The Richmond Rotary Club received its charter on April 12, 1962, with Carlo Hansen as its charter President, and the Marpole Club being our "mother hen". At the Installation meeting we received the following Regalia:

  • Banner - Chilliwack Club
  • Gavel - Annacis Island Club
  • Lamp - Mission Club
  • Badges - New Westminster Club
  • Lapel Pins - Ladner Club
  • Lecturn - Marpole Club (now Vancouver South)
  • Flags - Kingsway - Mount Vernon Club
  • Bell - Vancouver Club
  • Badge Box - Burnaby Club

Our first meeting were held in the Skyline Hotel, then later at the Airport Inn, the King Wah Restaurant, back to the Skyline Hotel, when in 1975 a fire forced our departure to the Richmond Inn where we stayed until June 1984, when we moved to Richmond Golf and Country Club, the Radisson Hotel, the Abercorn Hotel and now the Four Points by Sheraton Vancouver Airport.

Morris Belkin Bill Boivin Les Bryan
Sam Cohen Bob Everett Dave Fouks
Wif Gladstone Carlo Hansen Ben Jones
Jack Later Art Longridge Ralph Miller
Jim McCracken Hugh McCue Norm McDonald
Don Newson Andy Neilson Alec Noble
Russ Spry Alex Storie Jim Storie
Ron Taylor Peter Vander Graaf  
Sid Zack    


Dates of Importance:

  • June 22, 1962 - 1st Installation of Officers at the Skyline Hotel.
  • August 8, 1962 - 1st Assembly at the home of President Carlo Hansen
  • April 23, 1963 - 1st Anniversary Dance at the Marine Drive Golf and Country Club